Colour Me Impressed

I must admit, I didn’t think it could be done.

When I first heard months ago that the second-most critically acclaimed graphic novel of all time, the most popular graphic novel of all time, and my favourite book of all time would be made into a movie, I was very skeptical.  I’m talking, of course, about Watchmen, by Alan Moore and Dave Gibbons.

How, I wondered, could the brilliance, complexity, psychological explorations, and stunning character developments possibly be shortened into a two-hour movie?  What would have to be changed to make it acceptable to mainstream audiences, and would those changes make a mockery of my beloved book?

Then I saw the trailer.

Damn.

Other than the costume changes for Silk Spectre and Ozymandias, the visuals for this movie are just mind-blowing.  And Dr. Manhattan’s still nekkid!

I’m still skeptical, but if the story can match the visuals, this will be an incredible movie indeed.

Keeping my fingers crossed. . .

VS – 7.23.08

Leave a Reply

