Georgia On My Mind

First off, let me say that I’m as surprised as anyone else that I ended up on the blog of a FauxNews pundit, even if it is that of the network’s token liberal, Alan Colmes.  But I was following links from The Huffington Post, one thing led to another, and well, I ended up there, so I guess you could say that Arianna Huffington lead me astray.  But what I found there was so outrageous, I had to blog about it.

So, according to the blog, a poor woman in Georgia faces eviction from her home, because she is a convicted sex offender.  And the horrendous crime that has left Wendy Whitaker labeled for life?  She had oral sex with her almost-16-year-old boyfriend. . .when she was 17.  Convicted of statutory rape?  Nope.  Sodomy!  And thanks to Georgia’s draconian sexual statutes,  she’s being evicted now, 11 years later.  She is fighting them, under the Constitutional provisos against cruel and unusual punishment, arguing that her sex-offender status and inability to live within 1000 feet of a child-care center, school, or church (particular Catholic churches, which hate competition) is grossly disproportionate to the severity of her crime.  And she’s right, but it’s Georgia, where intelligence doesn’t always win the day. . .though it did last year, when Genarlo Wilson used the same argument to overturn his 10-year sentence and sex offender status for, guess what, having consexual sex as a teenager with another teenager (though he may still be in jail as the prosecutor attempts to appeal the verdict).  She has a chance, at least, and I sincerely hope she wins.

Dear Georgia, and other Southern states where applicable, please stop being ign’ant.  I am a Southerner by birth, will be a Southerner until I die no matter where I am, and I love the South to death, but I swear to God, if ya’ll don’t quit being stupid and ign’ant and clinging to the past and voting solidly conservative no matter how crappy the candidate, I will come back down there and drag you all into the 21st century, kicking and screaming, if my tranquilizer darts don’t work.  The alternative to being dragged into the 21st century is being slapped there with my shoe, and I wear boots, so I think you’d prefer the dragging.  America has changed.  The world has changed.  You’re embarrassing the rest of us, the rest of America, with bullshit like this, so fucking stop it.

VS – 11.23.08

P.S.  Yes, I know I am continuing to ignore Barack Obama’s cabinet picks, the hurtling-towards-the-bottom-of-the-barrel economy, and The Witch Of Wasilia.  To be honest, though, while I am keeping an eye on those issues, until I have something unique and special to say about them, I’d rather talk about things that aren’t currently dominating news cycles.

One Response to “Georgia On My Mind”

  1. I just read about that story in a local newspaper article. I was pretty shocked. I mean, she was seventeen, he was almost sixteen, it was consensual, and it was oral, not even full-blown sex. The poor girl probably didn’t even realize that what she was doing was technically illegal. I would rather my state put more energy towards protecting us from real dangers than poor Wendy Whitaker.

Leave a Reply

