What I Do When I’m Busy Not Writing New Posts As Regularly As I Should Be

Just a few of the sites I peruse and other activities I engage in when I’m not writing as many blog posts as I should:

1.  Huffington Post – left-leaning news blog. Funny, tragic, amusing; it’s where I get my news and such.  Okay, really I just have a massive intellect-and-accent crush on Arianna Huffington, but don’t tell her.  I want it to be a surprise.

2.  Comics Alliance – stuff about comic books and related media presented with wit, way deeper research than I could ever be arsed to do, and a smattering  of wisdom.

3.  HollaBack DC! – a blog for women in the DC area to report incidents of sexual harassment and verbal or physical assaults.  I’m seriously considering trying to start a HollaBack Seattle, if one doesn’t already exist. (UPDATE:  It did exist.  The HollaBack Seattle page states that the site moved to HollaBack PNW [Pacific Northwest] in 2006 and the link to that site doesn’t work.  The Seattle page is worth browsing, if only because it includes the phrase “spirit of the hollaback”.)

4.  Cracked.com – Seriously, Cracked makes me laugh until I pee.  And I am pretty sure that I am one of the no-more-than-30 people that bought both copies of their print relaunch a few years ago.

5.  Playing Soul Calibur 3 – This is just for story research, I swear.  Trust me.

6.  Ex Machina – I just started reading the trades, since the series is about to come to an end and I won’t be buying the trades forever.  It’s pretty damn good; the story of the world’s first and (to that point) only super-hero deciding that he could do much more good if he became mayor of his hometown, which is (of course) NYC, because nothing exciting or unusual or unique ever happens anywhere else but NYC, and it’s the only place in the world that anyone could have a power-granting accident, and certainly NYC is not the most overused city in comics, movie, TV, and books absolutely fucking ever.  Other than that, it’s a pretty good story of a hero trying to deal with real-world problems.

7.  Learning to play bass, learning Japanese, sleeping, eating, caring for daughter, self-improvement, missing a special lady, oh yeah, and WORK – just minor stuff, really.

So yeah.  When you don’t see new posts from me, that’s what I’ve been doing.  Aren’t you glad you know now?

VS – 6.16.10

Leave a Reply

