The Thrill of Being An Extra

Last weekend (November 17 & 18), I got to be a part of something awesome.

I was an extra on the set of The Gamers 3:  The Hands of Fate. How did that come about?  I’m glad I asked!  I’ll tell you.

As I don’t think I’ve ever mentioned before on this page, I am the tournament organizer for the Legends of the Five Rings (L5R for short) playgroup at my favouritest comic shop in the world, Dreamstrands Comics and Such in Seattle (which is also the highest-level Stronghold Store in the state, at level 6 as of this writing!).  As an L5R player, I’ve traveled to other cities, like Tacoma and Portland (so far) to play in the big tournaments, and at those I met a guy named Casey, who is the TO for tournaments at Game Matrix in Tacoma.

Well, it so happened that Casey became the extras coordinator for The Gamers 3: The Hands of Fate and placed a call for extras on the Western Washington L5R Facebook page.  Unfortunately, due to scheduling conflicts, I could only make two days of the shooting,  the 17th and 18th.  But I, with another member of the group, went down to Game Matrix Saturday morning at the ungodly hour of 9 AM, hoping to be. . .an extra!

I’ll tell you, it was a blast!

Being just background players was a lot of fun.  Doing multiple takes can get a little repetitive, and miming playing a card game was something new for me, but you know, it worked out well!  I can’t give away too much information because I don’t want to ruin the movie for anyone (and I don’t remember if I signed an NDA or not), but it was really fun, the movie will be really funny, and with any luck you’ll see me in the background of several scenes (and one stellar turn as an arm double)!  All of the crew was friendly, easy to talk to, and a lot of fun to work with!  Also, Brian Lewis is a really cool dude and Trin Miller makes really good cookies.

While I was there, I got into several good games of L5R with people who beat me mercilessly but taught me mechanics I hadn’t thought of and learned to play AEG‘s new game Smash-Up, which was really easy to learn and a lot of fun to play.

You know, being in front of and behind the camera, being on the set, talking to the director and actors. . .it kinda makes me want to get back into theatre work. . .

VS

P.S. If you haven’t seen The Gamers 2: Dorkness Rising, check it out here, then buy the DVD for some sweet extras!

Leave a Reply

